Directory

Faculty

Colin Amos, PhD

Associate Professor

Tectonic Geomorphology, Structural Geology

amosc2@wwu.edu

360-6503587

Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, PhD

Associate Dean / Professor

Seismology and acoustics of volcanic systems, Marine geophysics, Landslide seismicity

caplanj@wwu.edu

360-6504153

Doug Clark, PhD

Associate Professor

Geomorphic and paleoclimatic significance of alpine glaciation, with a particular focus on the latest Pleistocene and Holocene

dhclark@wwu.edu

360-6507939

Robyn Dahl, PhD

Assistant Professor

Invertebrate marine paleoecology, Early Paleozoic (Ordovician) gastropods, Geoscience Education

dahlr4@wwu.edu

360-6507207

Susan DeBari, PhD

Professor

Crustal scale petrologic processes within island arcs, Science Education

debari@wwu.edu

360-6503588

Brady Foreman, PhD

Assistant Professor

Sedimentology & Stratigraphy

foremab@wwu.edu

360-6502546

Bernard Housen, PhD

Professor and Chair, Geology

Applications of geophysics to structural and tectonic problems, Paleomagnetism and plate motions, Deformation fabrics and tectonics, Magnetic mineral diagenesis and environmental magnetism, Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) and near-surface geophysics

bernieh@wwu.edu

360-6506573

Scott Linneman, PhD

Professor

Geomorphology, Geoscience Education, Teacher Preparation

linnems@wwu.edu

360-6503446

Robert Mitchell, PhD

Professor

Hydrogeology, Watershed hydrology, Engineering geology, and Numerical modeling

rjmitch@wwu.edu

360-6503591

Sean Mulcahy, PhD

Associate Professor

Metamorphic petrology, Structural geology, Geochronology Tectonics

mulcahs@wwu.edu

360-6503645

Allison Pfeiffer, PhD

Assistant Professor

Camilo Ponton, PhD

Assistant Professor

Paleontology, Geological oceanography

pontonc@wwu.edu

360-6503648

Melissa Rice, PhD

Associate Professor

Planetary geology, Remote sensing, Robotic space exploration

ricem5@wwu.edu

360-6503592

Emily Roland, PhD

Assistant Professor

Marine and coastal science, Marine geophysics

emily.roland@wwu.edu

Liz Schermer, PhD

Professor

Application of structural geology, metamorphic petrology, and geochronology to problems in continental tectonics, Tectonic geomorphology and active faulting at continental margins

schermer@wwu.edu

360-6503658

Staff

Kate Blizzard

Admin Services Manager B

Hye In Park

Hye In Park
Program Coordinator

Ben Paulson

Ben Paulson
Instruct/Clsrm Support Tech 3

Research Associates

Russ Burmester, PhD

Research Associate

Application of paleomagnetism to the study of tectonic processes, Tectonics and stratigraphy of the Belt Supergroup, Paleomagnetism and tectonic history of the American Cordillera.

Russb@wwu.edu

Cristina Garcia Lasanta, PhD

Pmag Mgr - Research Scientist

Paleomagnetism and magnetic fabrics applied to Tectonics. Rock magnetism, paleointensity and archaeomagnetism

garcia52@wwu.edu

360-6503835

Eric Grossman, PhD

Research Associate/U.S. Geological Survey

Transport dynamics and fate of fluvial and littoral sediment in the coastal system, Puget Sound Coastal Storm Modeling System (PS-CoSMoS)

grossme2@wwu.edu

360-6503582

George Mustoe

Research Associate

Cenozoic paleontology, Paleobotany, Analytical geochemistry

mustoeg@wwu.edu

360-6503582

Ryan Niemeyer

An illustration of a person on a gray background
Research Associate

Brian Rusk, PhD

Research Associate

Hydrothermal systems, Ore deposits, Geochemistry, Fluid inclusions, Trace elements LA-ICP-MS

ruskb@wwu.edu

360-6503595

Mai Sas

Geochemistry Research Associate

Mineral Geochemistry, Magma Petrogenesis and Processes

She/her/hers

sasm@wwu.edu

360-6507363

Pete Stelling, PhD

Research Associate

Geology of geothermal energy systems, Physical volcanology, Igneous petrology, Igneous geochemistry

stellip@wwu.edu

360-6504095

David Tucker

David Tucker
Research Associate

Emeritus

Scott Babcock, PhD

Professor Emeritus

Ned Brown, PhD

Professor Emeritus

Thor Hansen, PhD

Thor Hansen
Professor Emeritus

James Talbot, PhD

Dr. James Talbot
Professor Emeritus